We are connected by the web

We are connected by a fast powered device that rules our brains. I call this the internet. I am a huge hater of how writing letters has become a thing of the past. I’m sad to be born into this technological rich age of convenience. Honestly, I think the worst device we have on the planet is our cell phones. 

Cell phones have become the divide between us being social beings, and us being so invested in the self. What do I mean by this? Have you ever walked down the street and breathed in the air, grabbed a child’s hand before he walked in front of a bus, or chased a cat off the street to save it’s life? If you have..I give you kudos today because many of the younger generation are missing this feeling. The feeling to just be with the world, and accept that you can’t always contact someone. I mean who really wants to be called every second of the day? I know I don’t.  Hence, the absence of my cell phone ninety percent of the day.

I’m sick of seeing people on snapchat taking pictures of their face when they could be walking outside enjoying the air. Let’s bring back the natural world, and get rid of the self obsessed ways that have become. I mean I don’t have this inapt habit to check a phone every five seconds, and I don’t need a phone to report where I am all the time. I can go where I want, when I want, and do what I want without it being shined all over facebook.

It just dawned on me that maybe I am old at heart. I don’t like technology, and I don’t believe we should rely on it to stay connected. I believe in phone calls but not in text messages. I think if you’re gonna text someone just go talk to them unless it’s important. If it’s important call. I like a voice, I like society. I like to drown myself in the world around me. Let’s understand each other, and stop fighting on social media about stupid things. Then delete a person due to a messaged fight. It’s not right. Our friendships should be developed on real things like real conversations, and real face to face communication. I also feel relationships should do the same. It’s like we’re in a friend with benefits relationship but only benefiting the bad stuff from the web.  

I feel the internet divides us as much as it connects us. Don’t get me wrong I love writing online blogs, I love being able to reach the world, and I love certain aspects it gives. But are we reaping in the benefits from the world around us?

Maybe, what I am ranting about is that if we just put our phones away for a few hours we would get better understanding of the world. ( I don’t have a cell phone. ) But I guess I feel the internet is dividing the world more than helping it.


Thank you again for reading this. I hope you enjoyed my little rant. Please comment, like, or follow if you like what you read. I’m working on my third chapter, and I might just sift through some old writing to introduce my Alimaria story. Look forward to that piece. My song today is called the age of ignorance which is fitting to the topic. 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/connected/

2 thoughts on “We are connected by the web

Leave a Reply

