Daily Prompt: Underestimate

Daily Prompt – Underestimation

Lately, I feel like I’ve crushed every expectation that people have had on me. I’m not sure if it’s deliberate or just me being me. I hate expectations because they place a perimeter on what people expect out of you. I like to do the unexpected. I believe leaping off that cliff into water is a fantastic idea as long as you don’t die. I don’t think I can stand expectations because I can’t stand being placed in such high esteem. We are humans. Not perfect but imperfect intelligent beings. Mistakes will be made. Problems will be had. But we must overcome these issues to grow stronger.

We learn from being the underdog in situations. There are reasons why a team with so many wins can lose a competition in the final round. I think this reason is that there is too much pressure with the expectation from the fans. This issue can happen in the job place, at school, at home, and even just in daily life.

If your anything like me breaking expectations sucks. I hate it. But the expectations being held in the first place are not always right. I like to say, rather than expect to take a more proactive step. Try to understand why the person is doing so well at school, or so bad, or so good at home, but so bad at school. What I mean to say is that it is always the underdog who gets the best achievement out of any tournament. Just like how writers will always be the underdogs to the great writers, but we are actively learning from them.

One of my favorite quotes is:

You may not always have a comfortable life and you will not always be able to solve all of the world’s problems at once but don’t ever underestimate the importance you can have because history has shown us that courage can be contagious and hope can take on a life of its own. -Michelle Obama

So, If you are underestimating yourself it’s because you are placing expectations rather than just being one with life. Stop caring about what you should do, and who you should be. Just be. It’s the best thing. Understand your limitations, your mistakes, and work on improving. There will always be setbacks.

Leave a Reply

